Home In The Mountains

“I’m a person of the mountains and the open paddocks and the big empty sky, that’s me, and I knew if I spent too long away from all that I’d die; I don’t know what of, I just knew I’d die.” – John Marsden

Today, Monday, it is 75 degrees and the sky is dressed in its best shade of blue. The past three days have been the same, gradually warming and slapping my skin with a nice late spring tan. My friend Julie, who I guided horseback riding adventures with last summer, came down from Kalispell to go to work with me on Friday. We saddled up and rode the hills and all at once I forgot how easy it is to take these days for granted. Riding and writing, riding and writing…

We camped at Sanders County Fairgrounds on Friday night in the pickup right next to my girls, who were lucky to have stalls and not stand tied to the trailer. Saturday morning we hit the trail with 148 other riders and saw every variety of tracks and scat but no glimpse of the wildlife who left them. Getting home, after two blown tires (one overdue and the sun-rot spare) and belly-hurting laughs laughter, was perfection. It was front porch sitting, tennis ball throwing, goat and horses lounging in the sun, lawn mowing perfection.

And just like that, the weekend is over and we’re back in the race to our wedding date next month. It’s all talk of flower vases and cake stands and lengths of table linens. This trail riding trip was meant to be a commencement of sorts to our season of riding but it looks like the next several weekends (and weeknights) are spoken for – sanding and painting a vintage table and windows, pouring concrete for our alleyway in the barn (wedding dance floor), ordering the barn roofing supplies, Chris slaving away on the trusses to finish off the barn, and finding him the perfect tie to wrap up the end of our preparation.

Happy Monday, readers!

3146

Atop a mountain ridge in Plains, MT with Lucy

IMG_4544.jpg

Looking West from our wedding ceremony spot

IMG_4613.jpg

Front porch daisies

IMG_4574.jpg

IMG_4657.jpg

Looking North, my favorite tree on our property

IMG_4654.jpg

IMG_4605.jpg

My head-deep huntress, Timber, finding some moles

4 thoughts on “Home In The Mountains

  1. HELEN AGRO says:

    Love the pics of the landscaping but I absolutely love that picture of your two dogs. Never take that for granted. It is a gift. Can’t wait to see the whole crew.

    Like

    • Chelsea Lyn Drake says:

      Thanks, Lisa! If heaven is anything like spring in Montana, well, we’re forever home. I’m in love with the Bitterroot Valley. Our sweet Timber is in her glory! Have a wonderful weekend 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

